Pro Tip: When and How Do We Get Our Marriage License?

  • December 15, 2022
  • /   Dubsdread Catering
  • /   planning-catering,weddings,featured,orlando wedding
wedding licenses

license 1

Pro Tip: How Do We Get Our Marriage License? The Dubsdread Catering Team weigh in with professional advice for this often-asked question.

Planning a wedding takes a lot of time with many details that need to be considered, decided, and booked for your big day. One of the most important things to keep on your pre-wedding checklist is getting your marriage license.

Obtaining your license may seem complicated, but if you follow the steps, provide the correct documents, and give yourself time in case any problems occur, you’ll have nothing to stress about.

NOTE: These rules are only for the State of Florida, so be sure to read the state’s rules for the state or location you are getting married in if not Florida.


Any couple, if one or both parties are a Florida resident, must take a four-hour premarital preparation course, or wait three days before the marriage license goes into effect.

The aim of the course is to give couples an opportunity to take time out from the hectic planning of the Wedding Day and focus on how things are between them, to affirm what is going well and to name the areas of their relationship that might need some attention.

Courses are offered through churches, education centers, and even online. Upon completion, a certificate is issued and is valid for one calendar year upon receipt.

license 2  license 3


Every marriage license is issued by a county court judge or clerk of the circuit court under his or her hand and seal. Marriage licenses are issued by counties, and you can apply for your license at any county clerk's. Some clerk’s offices offer appointments and on-line video conferencing. No matter how you apply, both parties must apply at the same time.

To apply with the clerk:

1. Make sure both parties (over the age of 18) have their Social Security numbers, as well as a picture ID. This picture ID can be through a driver’s license, passport, or military ID.

a. Any person who is not a citizen of the U.S. may provide either a Social Security number or an Alien Registration number, if one has been issued. If neither has been issued, another form of ID may be required.

2. Submit your premarital course certificate showing the completion and date within the 365-day limit. The proof of completion can lower your application fee if both parties are Florida residents.

3. Pay your marriage license fee, which is currently $86 (2022). If both parties are Florida residents and have submitted valid proof of completion of a premarital preparation course, the license fee is discounted to $61.

4. If either party has been previously married, the exact date of the divorce, death, or annulment is required.

Blood tests are not required to apply for a marriage license.

    license 4  license 5


    Once you receive your marriage license, your ceremony must be held within 60 days. 

    Following the wedding ceremony, the executed marriage license must be signed by someone who officiated the ceremony. There must be only one signature for the officiant, although more than one clergy or marrying official may perform the ceremony.

    The marriage certificate has spaces for two witnesses to sign, however, witnesses are not specifically required by law in the State of Florida. It is a recommended practice that two witnesses, other than the officiant, sign the marriage certificate in the event that proof of the marriage ceremony is necessary in the future.

    After everyone has signed the license, it's the officiant's responsibility to return the marriage license to the county clerk, either by mail or in person. It will then be recorded in the county official records.

    After that, you're all set. You can order certified copies of your license online, via mail, or in person at The Bureau of Vital Statistics or the issuing county’s Clerk of the Courts office.

    We know there are a lot of things that must be done before your big day, and your wedding license is an important one. Our experienced team at Dubsdread Catering is with you every step of the planning process and will share our experience and ideas for making every part of your event special to you, your partner, and your guests. 

    license 6 

     license 7

    license 8

    license 8